New Day

Welcome readers.

While I may have posted random blog entries in the past, I am officially opening this blog with this post.  I figured today is better then any other day because it is a Sunday, it is the day I opened my new website, and workout restarts after a week of sickness hit me hard.  Also, my original plans were to open this blog officially the Monday after I graduated.  Issues there, I had a lot of stress and a lot of build up and didn’t get to it.  Today being my graduation celebration, I saw this moment as the end of my graduation chapter, and the start of the true search for a career path.  A day like today ending an era reigns in the beginning of a new blog.

Career path seems like an interesting term, word choice, and thought.  Every teacher in college talked about our career path as a journey.  Some teachers wanted to show us what every career path looks like while others wanted us to realize our career path is different then someone else’s career path.  In these few weeks of, what I do not want to call unemployment but a time of metamorphosis, it is less important to start the career path and more important to build the necessary blocks to create the launching pad for a career path.  For me this includes a website, a blog, and video sharing access, as a way for people to interact with me and create my identity.  The past week, other then overcoming sickness, was also overcoming the obstacle of starting the journey.  The launch of my websitewas something I never imagined I would do sitting in my second Interactive Digital Design class with Laurie Grace as my teacher. I remember specifically her saying that each person who is serious needed to create their own website. Junior year self said “that will never happen”. Well it has. With that came the creation of my twitter, my YouTube Page and my Vimeo Page, and < a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikemac10″>flickr page. I hope years from now I will look at this past week and say, “wow, that was the thing that launched my rocket.” Maybe teachers were right, there are necessary steps to take to begin our career path, but once those necessary steps are taken we chose our own path. This seems like enough metaphorical statements, lets get down to the business.

The list has been set and tomorrow evening as I write this blog, twelve new companies will have a hot copy of my cover letter, resume, and website link to apply to their new jobs. This will be a process for the afternoon into early evening. Tomorrow is also the day to lose some of the sick weight and party weight I gained today. A lot of cake, ice cream, and steak will be burned in Health Trax tomorrow morning. I hope you all enjoy the evening, looking forward to the Monday post of a lacrosse story and a design post. Please check my website and read this as a piece of the framework to create this path. Career Trax? Maybe if I had plans to become a physical trainer. Until tomorrow enjoy this evening and enjoy your holiday.

mikemac10
Quinnipiac 2010
May 31, 2010
01:18 AM

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment